Sat, Sep 18, 2021
Home Town Debate
Willapa Harbor Herald
Lewis County News
Traveler's Companion
(360) 942-3466 • PO Box 706, Raymond, WA 98577

Local Commissioners, State Reps. and Auditor headed to Primary Election

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

Toledo Mayor Jerry Pratt (background, right) thanks supporters during a campaign kickoff Sunday at Kemp Olson Memorial Park. Pratt is one of six individuals running for Lewis County Commission Position 3 after incumbent Lee Grose declined reelection.

A number of local elected offices will be headed to the August Primary Election, particularly races for County Commissioner if Lewis and Cowlitz Counties.

In Lewis County, six individuals have joined the race after incumbent Lee Grose declined to seek re-election, and include John Roe (R), of Onalaska, Michael Messmore (R), of Toledo, Jerry Pratt (R), of Toledo, Rich Bainbridge (R), of Chehalis, Gary Stamper (R), of Silver Creek, and Harry Bhagwandin (R), of Onalaska.

In Cowlitz County, incumbent Jim Misner (I), of Silverlake, did decide to run again, but is being challenged by Mark Smith (R), of Kelso, Joe Gardner (I), of Toutle, and Mike Kayser (D), of Castle Rock.

Other offices headed to the primaries include:

US Representative from Congressional District 3, in which Bob Dingethal (D), of Vancouver, and Michael Delavar (R), of Washougal, are challenging incumbent Jaime Herrera Beutler (R), of Ridgefield.

Lewis County Assessor, in which Martha Hunt (R), of Centralia, and Candy Hollom (R), of Chehalis, are challenging incumbent Dianne Doery (R), of Centralia.

State Representative from Legislative District 19 Position 2, in which Hugh Fleet (R), of South Bend, and James O'Hagan (I), of Grayland, are challenging incumbent Brian Blake (D), of Aberdeen.

Cowlitz County PUD Commissioner Position 1, in which Dena Diamond–Ott, of Kalama, and Loren Sievila, of Kalama, are challenging incumbent Merritt Ketcham, of Kalama.

Offices with just two candidates filed include:

State Representative from Legislative District 19 Position 2, in which David A. Steenson (L), of Longview, is challenging incumbent Dean Takko (D), of Longview.

Lewis County Auditor, in which Jenifer Slemp (D), of Napavine, is challenging Larry Grove (R), of Chehalis.

Lewis County Sheriff, in which Rob Snaza (R), of Napavine, is running against Brian Green (I), of Onalaska.

Cowlitz County Sheriff, in which Darren Ullmann (I), of Kelso, is challenging Mark Nelson (D), of Kelso.

Cowlitz County Prosecutor, in which Ryan Jurvakainen (I), of Longview, is challenging incumbent Sue Baur (D), of Longview.

Offices with candidates running unopposed include:

Lewis County Clerk, with incumbent Kathy Brack (R), of Toledo, seeking reelection.

Lewis County Coroner, with incumbent Warren McLeod (R), of Centralia, seeking reelection.

Lewis County Prosecutor, with incumbent Jonathan Meyer (R), of Centralia, seeking reelection.

Lewis County Treasurer, with incumbent Arny Davis (R), of Chehalis, seeking reelection.

Cowlitz County Coroner, with incumbent Timothy Davidson (D), of Castle Rock, seeking reelection.

Cowlitz County treasurer, with incumbent Kathy Hanks (D), of Kalama, seeking reelection.

The Primary Election is scheduled for Aug. 5, with the voting period beginning July 18, while the General Election is scheduled for Nov. 4, with the voting period beginning Nov. 17.

Read more from:
TC - Government
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: